description description

Drawing of Warwijck’s Harbour and hinterland, Mauritius


Drawing of Warwijck’s Harbour and hinterland, Mauritius

Jolinck, Heyndrick Dircxz.

In late September 1598, part of the Second Expedition (Tweede Schipvaart) to the East indies, came across an island known as Diego Rodriguez, which they renamed Mauritius of Nassau after the Dutch stadholder and flagship of the expedition. The ships remained there for some time and crew went ashore to refresh supplies and explore the island. In his journal helmsman Heyndrick Dirrecksen Jolinck of the Vriesland drew this description of Warwijck’s Harbour in the southeast of the island, where the ships had anchored. In 1638 the VOC would create an outpost in this place.

Please contact Nationaal Archief for reuse and copyrights.

Sources and literature

Keuning, De tweede schipvaart der Nederlanders naar Oost-Indië̈ onder Jacob Cornelisz. van Neck en Wybrant Warwijck, 1598-1600 : journalen, documenten en andere bescheiden (1938-1951)